Studio Fun!

Well!

I accidentally spent all day reorganizing my studio. It really was all day. Whoops.

I was supposed to help Robin Lehto film something at the bins (big rumagey goodwill in SE Portland). But I lost track of time.

I moved all of my shelves around. And made room in different areas for people to come into the studio in October!

I’ve been working odd jobs to make ends meet, so haven’t had much studio time recently. And I will be starting a 2/3 time dayjob super soon. So I won’t have much time to move stuff around. Mostly time to paint! And crochet! So I just did it. And it’s so good that it’s done!

Plenty of other stuff to do – but I did it.
And the darn thing was MESSY! Tell you what!

But, having spent maybe 6 hours moving the furniture back and forth I think I got it down finally!

I have a nook for old paintings and one for wood for future painting construction. And a nook for the easels (I usually have 3 going at least!) And the entrance is all cleared up and ready for people to enter. Some tables/desks over there for me to demonstrate how I do what I do on.

Well, it’s almost done. I do need to do some other stuff too… but, well, it’s 75% done.
And there is really only so much I can do in one day, when I have other stuff going on (like volunteer jobs {portland open studios!, vvsn, oh, wait I dropped the other ones when i got too busy}, and art and my sweetheart and the cat and meals and sleeping and growing sprouts and blogging and looking for shows on the internet).

Soooooo, in October – in time for PORTLAND OPEN STUDIOS! – the studio is sure to be organized enough for people to come and see it. I have plans too… I may spill out a bit into the studio shop and common area and use some space that’s around…

To buy a tourguide for this event please check out http://www.portlandopenstudios.com!

Yay!!!!!!!!!

Plus the part where my studio will function better and be a more fun place to work! Maybe next week this will be true. I have a couple of days of… I’ll let you know how it goes.

Hope to see you there in October! The second and third weekends I will be there and will happily explain what I do and how!

Thanks!
Love Katie

a sculpture I made - this will be on view at the Tyson Gallery in NW Portland in October.

a sculpture I made - this will be on view at the Tyson Gallery in NW Portland in October.

Leave a Reply

