Portland Open Studios Day 3

Hi!

Today was pretty slow, but it was fun. I got a bunch of work done. I got to talk to some nice folks.

My favorite part was a highschool class (well, maybe 6 girls and a teacher) who kind of interviewed me. One girl filmed it! She said she’d put it on youtube or something. I was excited.

It was pouring for much of the day. That torrential portland randomness, it was sunny sometimes too.

Some people said our signs weren’t very good. That they had a hard time finding the studio. Sad! Next year the signage will have to be different, since apparently it is not ok with the city to have the kind of signs we do. Not that I will necessarily do this next year. It is not lucrative really. I haven’t made my entry fee back yet. I hope tomorrow will be a bit better. But today at least I made five more dollars than last sunday. So I got to buy soup for my sweetheart and myself!

I’m just tired. I’m not trying to complain. No days off, no weekends, it’s sleepymaking. This is a bad year for some of us just starting out in the artworld. No, I know, I’m not just starting out. But I’m not famous either. Not yet. And the stinky economy is stinky. And things have been tough. Portland has a really high unemployment rate. The pay rate is not high here and the prices of homes and such have been going up still. SO times are tough, I know, I know. For real.

But all in all this experience has been really good. I’ve really learned a lot, and met a lo of great people. And learned how to talk about my art in a really good way! How to kind of teach painting. How to teach the plastic bag yarn making/crochet too. I have taught both before, but not given short demos. The past 2 weeks I’ve learned how to explain the painting technique that I use. Oh! I made up a name earlier, but I can’t remember it anymore! Dang.

I’ll post it when I remember.

Tomorrow is the last day of Portland Open Studios! I am excited to be open to talk to people for one more stretch. It should be a blast!

If you have time, please come see me. My studio is going to be open from 10 to 5. I’ll be there, making art, and will be happy to talk to you about it. If you’d like more information please message me. I look forward to talking to you soon!

Also, if you are not free tomorrow, I am happy to set up a studio visit for you.

Thanks so much for reading.

Best,

Katie

Leave a Reply

