brand new sculpture! finished today!

I just wanted to post a photo of my brand new sculpture! I just finished it tonight!

I needed something to show the folks in the workshop I’m going to teach on Saturday, and worked on it as an example of process though the open studios. But, I finished it tonight so I’d have it to show the folks at Mission Mill Museum…

This piece will debut to the Portland Public at the HELD Vegan Belts show in November! Come on over and see it, it is one of my favorites to date!

The blue body of the piece comes from New York Times bags, sent to me from New York by the fabulous Lisa Banner. Thank you Lisa! Thank you so much!

The flowers are a bit bigger than I usually put on this sort of sculpture, but thank goodness things are always changing. I love this piece! This is not the best photo. It is much longer than it is wide, and was very hard to photograph with my computer’s camera. Just fyi, it’s around 3 feet long.

superblossombranch

PS people always tell me that these pieces are oceanic, and FINALLY I see it. Yes, this ‘freeform crochet pattern’ could be the structure of seaweed, most certainly. Good point people! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

