thank you everyone who came to see my installation

Hi!

I wanted to give a big thank you shout out to everyone who came to see my installation!

It was really nice to see you or to meet you. I am so happy to have been able to share this art with you! It’s been a long tough road to this point. But, as some of you said (can I quote you Ben?) this is something that I’ve made into an art, and I do have complete creative control over the media now, after 2 years creating sculpture out of plastic bags. The sculpture is like nothing else that exists. So I am going to make as damn much of is as I can, before I die, so at least I’ll be famous and recognized for my achievements after that.

After my closing party yesterday I took the installation down. Soon the sculptures will go up at HELD, but I will not paint their walls. And the way they are installed will be different of course.

I am excited for that show! If you weren’t able to see the Jungle, please come to HELD.

Here are a few photos, for those of you wonderful folks who have been asking.

Thanks so much again.

Love, Katie

DSC00790fisheye jungle k. spainjungle, guardians, branchrootsthrough guardianthe old tips k. spainguardian, nyc branches, vines, k. spainnyc made branches, k. spainthe blooming vines, k. spain

ps. all of these images are copyrighted by me, dude, so if you use them for something you’ll have to tell me first and give me royalties! thank you!

pss. i am happy to do interviews, or send you better photos to publish.

2 thoughts on “thank you everyone who came to see my installation

  1. Katie,

    You create amazing art. Thanks for visiting my blog and exposing your own. Now I really want to visit Portland.
    Cheers !

  2. Katie, please send me an email.

    I’m the cofounder of the http://plasticpollutioncoalition.org/

    We have lots of artists in our ranks that make art with and around plastic, including Dianna Cohen who’s been making art with plastics bags for 20 years.

    We believe art is a great way to raise awarenes on plastic polution. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

