Fun with Art

Hi folks,

It’s been so long since I posted, so I figured… today is the day. I was out of town for a couple of weeks, and have been busy since I got home. Today I’m just waiting for the library to open, doing chores, getting ready to go to the grocery store, the sunday type of things.

I have been able to go to my studio more frequently, after working a little early in the day, as the woman I assist is out of town, so I have been working earlier in the day and getting a lot done. It’s been great to get to know the new studio space better, and I am totally still very very very excited about it. I brought some plants over, and have been working on some new art.

Like I started a couple of figurative pieces! It’s been ages since I painted people, and I’ve missed it. And I’ve got an idea!!!!!!!! You’ll see.

Oh! I’ll have a piece at Portland City Hall this coming month, as part of a show celebrating Portland Open Studios’ 10 year anniversary!

I’m totally excited! The show opens this coming thursday, and will be up all month. Thursday will be awesome though, the mayor will speak, and it promises to be a great opening reception.

I’ve got great studio mates, and this last friday met for lunch with Michelle Ramin, who works in the space directly next to me. She is awesome! A wonderful artist and a wonderful person. We walked a bit in the neighborhood of the studio, and it was really fun to hang out with her. We both did some work before and afterwards, and it was very fun! She is an inspiring person, and I am glad that she is my new studio neighbor.

I recently got some of that reflective stuff that’s added to striping in street paint. I’m experimenting with it, so I can’t give you solid input about it yet, but I’ll be heading over to the studio at some point today, to pick up the painting that’ll be at City Hall. I’ll check out the reflective stuff so I know what it’s like when it’s dry, so I may know more later today. I hope it works! Industrial materials are so exciting as additions to fine art! But it’s hard to predict the outcome of their combination with acrylic paint and canvas or board.

I’m excited to try new things. Wheeeee!

I’ve been painting roots and plants, and am working up to a show about rooting at Launch Pad Gallery in August. This shwo will include many sculptures too. But I also hope to have another show before that. I have some new abstract work that needs to be in a gallery!

Anyhow, the library is open and I’ve got some books waiting for me, so I am going to put my shoes on and go for a little walk!

Thanks for reading, reader. I’ll post some photos soon, I keep forgetting my camera when I go to the studio.

Best,
Katie

PS Happy upcoming spring!

Leave a Reply

