I love wednesdays in nearly-spring!

Hi! It was so nice today I just have to post!

I just returned from a fabulous day spent with some of my favorite people in the world!

I have wednesdays off, so they are generally great anyhow, but today was spectacular.

First, I went to my studio, for a few hours in the morning. Favorite thing #1! I painted on a variety of pieces from my 2 new bodies of work. The roots and the new “women’s work” series.

Then I took the best bus ever (#15) over the willamette river into northwest portland. And I met with the Portland Women’s Art Group, at Anna Banana’s cafe, an old portland coffeehouse I used to go to when I first moved to portland in the late 1990s.
That was so fun! Renee, Jo, HsinYi, Alison, Bonnie and I sat in the sunshine and talked about new ideas and materials for a couple of hours. It was dreamy! A very much needed art meeting. These women are so wonderful and make gorgeous various sculptural work. Among other things. I always enjoy our meetings, but this one was the first for a while and it was so nice out, it was just perfect.

Then I took the bus back over the river and went to Por Que No taqueria on SE Hawthorne, to meet 4 very dear very old friends, Trish, Terra, Sarah and Sarah. It was so fun! I haven’t hung out with this many friends at once for a long time, just hung out without also doing some art thing, or some other thing. We hung out and ate tacos! It was amazing! Not only are those my favorite tacos in portland, these are some of my favorite women on earth. So, of course, it was great!

And now I am at home, with my sweetheart. And that too is awesome.

I think I am going to watch a movie my uncle did the art directing for later this evening. A 1994 Bruce Willis movie called The Color of Night.

All in all it will have been the perfect day.

It’ll officially be spring in a few days, but right now, it sure feels like it is already spring. Trees crazy with petals, plants growing out of every crack in the sidewalks, people out in the streets, and that dreadful dormancy portland gets in the winter (i get it too) is fading.

I know, I am an enthusiastic person, but today was extra good.

Happy spring friends!

Love,
Katie

Leave a Reply

