open studio fun!

Hi!

Please excuse the late posting of this – the event was like a month ago! Whoops! I forgot. Huh. This grad school thing is distracting.

Open Studio was fun. It was kind of weird, and I have had crowd/people anxiety for a long time, so it can get pretty intense now that I’ve moved here and barely hang out with anyone. There were a ton of people there (the eye twitch that I developed as soon as we decided to move finally stopped! I don’t recommend 4 months of eye twitch, fyi, yikes). Anyhow, the studio is usually very quiet, if you saw those photos of the space in earlier posts you can imagine… not so much traffic up there. I usually only see a few people in my program, mostly my studio mate, and professors up there.

Anyhow, it was really fun, through whatever personal weirdness that I have.

Lots of people came, many of my awesome professors were there, and my friends Mark and Lauren came all the way from different parts of Queens. THANK YOU GUYS! It was fun to hang out with people from the school some more too. I feel like I am a little too focused on working sometimes, and don’t get to hang out with many of the awesome people I am going to school with.

It was good, overall. It’s always great to hear feedback from the public. And I met some wonderful people, and I got some ideas. And it was really fun to hear how people interacted and reacted to my new work. It is always good to talk about the work, or try to explain it. It really helps me, it seems like I am always figuring out what the heck I’m doing through talking about it. Grad school is great for that. I am learning a lot about myself and the work I do. Opening up the studio to people I don’t know helps me get a fresh perspective too. I’ve had a great studio visit and some wonderful critiques since then, but that open studio really opened up my studio heart.

Awesome! Love, Katie

one of the guys in my program said he was glad there were girls around to do stuff like this! yay girls!

One thought on “open studio fun!

  1. Good to see a little bit of what’s happening. This really made me miss all that studio time we had together. Feels like I wasn’t conscious then. Hey save me a little chunk so my collection is consistent? Have fun and be conscious -now is when you need to really face the headwind hard. Sparkles-

Leave a Reply

