New Book (& adventure pictures)

Well hello there!

I just finished my first book in a long time. It’s pretty small, and called ‘dirt’.

I learned how to bind books in my PSU undergraduate times, and did a few here and there but lost track of that in favor of sculpture and larger paintings. That was a long time ago. Until now!

I worked on the painted pages for a little bit too long, ink and paint and dirt and tea and glitter. It was lovely and I loved it. I think it turned out great!

I fixed up a poem I’d written back in my farm days (that’s where the books title comes from) and typewrote it on the pages before painting on them some more. Ahhh sweet pagination.

I’m very out of practice so it’s not the best book I’ve ever made, but it’s surprisingly good, considering. I’m so happy that I haven’t lost the bookbinding!

Here are a few pictures of the book, it’s got a lot of pages so I’m just including a couple. Yay!

And heres a picture of a beach I just went to on the long island sound near Commack. And a picture of a relief off Audubon’s memorial in Trinity Cemetery, up here in Harlem… I just went there today, it was so awesome! If you go don’t forget to go to both sections, and to cross the street and go to the Hispanic Society museum to see the gorgeous Sorolla room (among many other masterpieces)!

Well yeah, anyhow, I’m going to make another book soon! Not sure what about yet… But I’m working on a zine about grad school, so I’ll finish that up first. I’ll post more about that soon.

Happy summer times to you, sweet person out in the internet!

xok

20120716-221646.jpg

20120717-182330.jpg

20120717-182442.jpg

20120717-182451.jpg

20120717-184156.jpg

2 thoughts on “New Book (& adventure pictures)

Leave a Reply

