Scout Patches

Hi!

I’ve been working on scout patches lately. Yeah, patches scout kids get for accomplishing specific tasks. Thinking about the kinds of rituals modern humanity has in its dealings with nature. I’ve also been doing all kinds of drawings, prints and sculpture about camping and other ways people try to wrangle nature. What keeps us safe, what keeps us dry? How do we navigate?

Speaking of, I just picked up a couple of waterworn bricks down by the east river today too, I’ll get some more soon, hopefully from the Hudson. I will get some from the long island sound, and the Atlantic. It’s going to happen, just maybe on thanksgiving, when I have more than one day off, in which to do homework, shopping, laundry and sleeping. I am going to do something good with these bricks! The magic of nature wearing away the stuff people have spent so much time doing. Ahhh!

Here are some pictures of the scout patches so far. The first one is done, I think, it’s a patch you’d get if you’d been swallowed by dark woods. The second is totally not done… Its a patch you’d get after a treetop star gazing marathon.

There will be more!!!

I’ll let you know what happens! It’s fun to embroider again, oh sweet sewn drawing, and to think of new scenarios which would merit patch winning.

Xok

20121027-204827.jpg

20121027-204901.jpg

Leave a Reply

