wow! dang!

Hi!

Hey guess what, I’m almost done with grad school…
Dang! That was fast and slow at once.

And I am so glad I’m here (well, I get to use the studio until July, and I’m not quite in finals yet). Yes. Grad school was completely great, I am also glad to be nearly done with it. Hmmm.

I’m going to miss being in the same room with my studio mates, 7 rad women, for like 12 hours a day. After a year in there (I had an isolated castle studio the year before, with just one awesome studio mate who had a pretty different schedule from mine) they are my best friends and community and it will be very weird not to get completely whacked out on making art and hang out with them all the time.

Here is a new print I’m super excited about! I’m using 2x4s! Very fun! Just finished this one on monday and I’m working up to printing a second over the weekend, though i still have to cut some of one of the boards, it should be done early next week. It’s a 2 block print, with some reduction, 3 colors but some rainbow roll goodness in there. It’s called Smog/Valleys.

Check out katiesimpsonspain.tumbler.com to see more of my recent prints!

I hope all is well out in the world. And with you, wherever you are.

I am all hyper from working on a self portrait video about how I only make labor intensive repetitious artwork. I’m pretty excited about it, but will edit it some and need to retake a few parts because of lighting before I put it up online. You shall see, soon. I love LOVE love repetition. So much!

Ok I am going to try to sleep.
Buenos noches y dulces suenos!

Katie

PS let me know if you want me to help you garden… Depending on who you are we both might love it so much that it’d be like a party and whatever plants we grow would surely flourish.

i finished printing this 2 days ago. so excited to make more! woodblock print, oil on okawara paper. it's a 2x4!

i finished printing this 2 days ago. so excited to make more! woodblock print, oil on okawara paper. it’s a 2×4! It’s wonky looking because the paper was still rolling a little. New New New! Hot off the presses (though I hand printed it).

Leave a Reply

