Moving Away

Happy Solstice,

 
Happy brightness. Happy summer. Happy peak of light. Happy warm days. Happy dress weather. Happy watermelon. Happy zucchini flowers. Happy bbq.

Umm. We’re doing it. We’re moving to NYC. My husband, cat and I.

Soon. Very soon. I’ll be here for less than a month.

Portland, sweet Portland. What a funny time. Leaving time.

I’ve lived here for 13 years. Lucky 13.

We’ll probably be back on the west coast soonish. We like it here. By soonish I mean years from now. A few years. Weird.

Here is a poem by Rumi for you:

 
the breezes at dawn have secrets to tell –
don’t go back to sleep.

you must ask for what you really want –
don’t go back to sleep.

the people are crossing over the threshold where the two worlds meet –
the door is round and open –
don’t go back to sleep.

Leave a comment